Property Tax

Property taxes are assessed and collected to provide services and fund infrastructure improvements for the various districts. Property tax revenues received by the village are utilized for services such as residential trash collection.


Mill levies are determined by each individual taxing authority such as the school, county, city, fire, water, sanitation, and recreation districts. The total mill levy depends upon the districts in which the property is located. County taxes are levied by the Board of County Commissioners. City and town taxes are levied by the City Council. Special district taxes are levied by their board of directors, and school taxes are levied by school boards. After the levies are certified to the County Assessor, the assessor then has the duty to extend the taxes on property and create the tax warrant roll. Colorado law requires the County Treasurer to mail a notice of property taxes to each owner of record even though a mortgage company may be responsible for payment.

Greenwood Village’s mill levy rate is 2.932 mills and is one of the lowest mill levy rates in the Denver Metro area. As a comparison, Aurora has a mill levy of 10.595 mills, Englewood 8.010 mills, Littleton 6.662 mills, and Centennial 5.077 mills. Please note that these are mill levies for a given city. There are additional mill levies for other districts included in Arapahoe County’s property taxes. The village’s portion of your overall property tax assessment makes up only a small portion of the total.

Payment and Disbursement of Property Tax

Both commercial and residential property taxes in the Village are remitted directly to Arapahoe County who disburse to the entities listed on your property tax statement.

Property Tax Districts

Individual residential and commercial property tax statements will vary depending upon the districts where the property is located.

More Information

For more information about your property tax statement, please call the Arapahoe County Assessor’s Office at 303-795-4600 or visit Arapahoe County's website.